The NSW Government has confirmed $20,000 to support the ongoing efforts of the Canberra Area Theatre Awards.

Minister for Regional Development and Member for Monaro John Barilaro said the Awards are integral to the arts community in the Monaro.

“The Canberra Theatre Awards have been running for 20 years and support local theatre groups across southern NSW and the ACT,” Mr Barilaro said.

“These awards help to raise the profile of our considerable regional theatrical talent. Last year 21 of the 44 winners were from NSW theatre companies,” he said.

The NSW Government’s grant will help cover the annual running costs of the awards.
Deputy Premier and Minister for the Arts, Troy Grant, said he was pleased the NSW Government was supporting amateur theatre in regional areas.

“The Canberra Area Theatre Awards are run by volunteers who give up their time to gather support from sponsors, encouraging and promoting regional theatre productions,” Mr Grant said.

“The Awards have grown over the years to become a major event on the ACT/Southern NSW theatre calendar and are a boost to the regional arts in NSW which enrich the lives of so many.

“Regional NSW has a diverse and thriving arts and cultural scene, and the Government is proud to support regional artists who are making valuable creative contributions to their local communities.
“Our support for the Canberra Area Theatre Awards is part of our commitment to ensure people can experience a diverse range of arts and cultural experiences, no matter where they live.”

For more information contact Belinda Strahorn, ph 02 62994899 in John Barilaro’s office.

Image: Deputy Premier and Minister for the Arts Troy Grant, Canberra Theatre Awards Founder Coralie Wood, Canberra Theatre Awards Chairman Dennis Martin and Minister for Regional Development and Member for Monaro John Barilaro at a Canberra Area Theatre Awards event in 2014.